1408 South Denver Avenue Tulsa, OK, 74119
A DUI attorney
is crucial if you are
charged with DUI

Drunk driving or driving under the influence of drugs is very dangerous for you and other people on the street, and this is why the penalties when a field sobriety test is failed are high and severe. In the last 20 years, penalties have stiffened: if you are charged with dui you could see your driver license suspended, be sentenced to probation, and even serve time in jail. Personal injury considerations may complicate your case further.

What is driving under the influence?

Driving under the influence (DUI) with a blood alcohol content of 0.08% or more is considered a crime under Oklahoma DUI law, and there are several circumstances that can aggravate your conviction: the type of vehicle, if you have already had a DUI conviction before, if you are near school areas or have children in the car, and others.

In Oklahoma, the penalties for driving in a dui case are severe starting from the first incident. Whether you fail blood tests or a chemical test, a first dui charge can result in 10 days to one year in jail, a fine of up to $ 1000 and a driver’s license suspension for 6 months.

How to choose your DUI attorney?

If you are accused of operating a vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs, you should not plead guilty before consulting with a dui defense lawyer – a dui charge is very serious, and you could be accepting penalties greater than those that actually apply. Even though it appears to be a white collar crime, a dui defense may be best performed by a criminal defense attorney who goes to court to represent clients in similar cases, instead of a civil attorney more familiar with cases like child custody.

Make sure your dui lawyers have passed the American bar test, practice criminal law regularly, and have a good lawyer rating.

Defense lawyers with experience in criminal law and dui cases will be able to support you step by step through the legal process, to make sure you get the smallest possible sanction and avoid a long, expensive and complicated trial.

Our office has experienced lawyers who will help you find the best solution for your individual case. Call us and let’s schedule your free consultation!

If you relapse within the next 10 years, the penalties for driving under the influence of alcohol (DUI) increase significantly: the outcome of your case in district court could see you go to jail for 1 to 5 years, suffer a license suspension for one year, and even require a special security device to start your vehicle.